A Rare Designer Lust

Ordinarily, I’m only interested in vintage gear or high street bargains. Never does the realm of new-season-designer so much as enter my thoughts, beyond providing inspiration of course; because I’m not Carrie Bradshaw or Blake Lively. Not only are designer items way out of my price range, but they’re usually far too flamboyant or edgy to wear without the paparazzi getting the benefit. (And as much as I’d like to believe it, nobody at all in my sleepy town is scrutinising what I wear when I go out of the house).

Just sometimes, however, I spot something that I really could have in my wardrobe, that I could love and cherish and actually wear. The designer piece that’s just caught my eye is by Vivienne Westwood, whose extravagant and eccentric designs appeal to my theatrical side enormously and have come to represent British designer fashion. Surprisingly, these beauties actually got my heart a-fluttering with their lack of flounce and fuss. Here they are: the Croco Buckle Detail Heeled Shoes…

Croco Shoes by Vivienne WestwoodCroco Shoes by Vivienne Westwood close-up

Are. They. Not. FABULOUS???!!

There I was trawling the internet for some plain-ish black heels, not too high for shopping trips, with a nice comfy strap (I don’t do well with basic court shoes as my feet are notoriously blister-prone). Never did I expect to find them with Vivienne’s honourable name beside them! They’re the equivalent of a plain white t-shirt for her!

These lovely heels are available at ASOS as part of Vivienne’s line ‘Vivienne Westwood Anglomania For Melissa’. The heels are a sensible height, the mary-jane shape is demure but very flattering, the crocodile print is very SS11 and that little gold heart buckle is just too cute. At £150 I think they are extremely reasonable, but unfortunately too rich for my blood, since I am merely a poor student and cannot spare such a large chunk of my gap year savings – even for shoe perfection.

Next post – I promise to do a run down of the season’s trends, now that it’s February and spring fashion is (stupidly) in full flow. But I may have to mention my last craving of the winter months first, and that is fantasy fur accessories. Stay tuned.

About thestardancer

Vintage style for the new world. Student, big dreamer, magic believer. I love to sing, dance and write. Geek, firmly out of the closet. Peace one day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

